In the second ever Indian Grand Prix at the Buddh International Circuit, Sebastian Vettel created history by winning the race here, again. 

Sebastian Vettel wins the 2012 Formula1 Indian GP

Team-mate Mark Webber continued a strong run but after having problems with KERS, he started losing pace rapidly. Hamilton could have overtaken him, had the race been a little longer. Hamilton settled for a fourth while Webber a third. 


Alonso managed a respectable second, Button a fifth. Massa finished sixth. The Lotus duo finished in points with Kimi taking the 7th  and Grosjean the 9th. Nico Hulkenberg finished 8th and Paul di Resta twelfth. Williams' Maldonado finished 16th and Bruno Senna a point-earning 10th.

It wasn't a great day for Mercedes either. Rosberg finished 11th and Schumacher 22nd. Schumacher lost a lot of time as soon as the race started, all thanks to a puncture. Towards the end of what possibly was his last Formula1 race in the country, he started getting quicker but eventually retired.

Sauber's Perez retired while Kobayashi finished 14th. Narain Karthikeyan was first asked by team to let his brakes cool down and after some time he was told that his car was running a bit too hot. He eventually finished 21st. His team-mate Pedro de la Rosa spun and hit a barrier, which meant a retirement. STR's Ricciardo finished 13th and Vergne 15th. Caterham's Petrov and Kovalainen finished 17th and 18th respectively. Marussia's Charles Pic finished 19th while his team mate Timo Glock finished 20th.

And finally the race-weekend ended. The 2012 Airtel Indian Grand Prix has been successfully hosted. Although that earns us a good brownie point, it's time to start preparing for 2013. 

Picture Courtesy Getty Images